Live Webcast of TUMO Opening Festivities Today Fri, Aug 12

On Monday, August 14, the TUMO Center for Creative Technologies will officially open to the public, but today, Friday, August 12, the public will get a taste of the state-of-the-art facility during the opening ceremonies, which will be livecast on the center’s website.

Founded by AGBU Central Board Member Sam Simonian and his wife, Sylva, TUMO is located in Yerevan’s Ajapniak neighborhood and it is designed to introduce students, ages 12 to 18, to a professional level of instruction in animation, web development, video game design, and digital video/audio through extensive after-school programs.

Designed to serve 1,000 students a day, the 75,000-square-foot facility will offer students in Armenia access to the latest technology and a universe of innovative ideas.

A glimpse of the cutting-edge technology that will make TUMO a hi-tech hub.

“Teamwork, communication, Internet literacy, analytical thinking, initiative — these are the skills that will be taught at Tumo,” says Sylva Simonian. “Sure, the kids may come to learn how to create a video game, or build a better website — and have fun in the process — but they’ll leave with so much more.”

“Creativity is a key component in the success of any endeavor,” Sam Simonian says. “Kids attending Tumo are likely to be working in fields that don’t even exist yet. But the skills, and creative ways of solving problems they’ll learn at Tumo, will serve them well as they make their own contributions to the world in the years ahead.”

Staring today, you can watch TUMO’s opening ceremonies at the following times:

  • Friday, August 12, 2011 at 9:00 pm, Yerevan time:
    • 6 pm in Paris
    • 12 pm in New York
    • 9 am in Los Angeles
  • Saturday, August 13, 2011 at 9:00 pm, Yerevan time
  • Sunday, August 14, 2011 at 8:30 pm, Yerevan time

Stay tuned and witness the dawn of a new era in technology in Armenia.

To learn more or watch the opening ceremonies, visit tumo.org.

Advertisements

2 responses to “Live Webcast of TUMO Opening Festivities Today Fri, Aug 12

  1. Daniel Maroutian-Remy

    This great for Armenian youth. Armenia’s greates asset as a small country is the intelligence to create technology similar to the success of Ireland as the Tigerof Europe. Armenia can become the Tiger of Eurasia.

  2. Pingback: TV Reports on the Grand Opening of TUMO (in Arm.) | AGBU Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s