AGBU’s Toronto Chapter Holds Its Annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony

AGBU’s Toronto Chapter held its annual scholarship awards reception at the Alex Manoogian Cultural Centre on December 1, 2011. This year’s recipients included Mher Areyan, Hrant Babayan, Daron Bedrosyan, Davit Davtyan, Knar Deherian, Michelle Deherian, Garen Hagopian, Levon Kostanyan, Nyrie Kouyoumdjian, Tamar Makdessian, Liana Sukiasyan, and Khatchadour Wanes.

The Chapter’s executive members welcomed and congratulated the recipients on their achievements, and then invited scholarship recipients to talk about their ongoing education and future plans. Board members also took the time to introduce the recipients to AGBU’s worldwide humanitarian and programs, as well as ongoing activities at the local chapter.

AGBU’s Education Department, based at the Central Office, awards scholarships based on high academic achievement, the caliber of the institution at which they are enrolled, and their involvement in community service. Furthermore, their potential for success and contributions to the Armenian people and nation are of important value in the decision making process. The hope is that scholarship recipients will assist AGBU in accomplishing its mission in their own capacity.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s